The Surrender Spiral

Imagine the Universe presents itself as ever expanding layers of consciousness. Spiritual growth is transcending from one level of consciousness to the next. These levels are not definitive or comparative with anyone else. You cannot say I am on level 4, and you are on level 2 for example. Your karmic triggers for this life define the levels of consciousness that you are dealing with, and so it is unique for each person. The focus is more about what you need to come to terms with for your level of consciousness and your level of growth. All this is so you can expand to your next level of consciousness for you.

Your expansion relates to your Soul calling and what you most want to experience in this lifetime. As a Soul, this is not your first life. You have been expanding as Soul for many lifetimes and potentially even got stuck on a level for some of those. So, you scripted the blueprint for this life. You plotted the lessons you still want to learn, the gifts you want to unleash, the karmic cords that you want to balance, the contracts you want to fulfill, the pain you want to heal, the obstacles you want to overcome. All of this provides insight into the particular challenges you face in this life.

Ego growth is interested in levels. It asks which level am I on and is that better or worse than yesterday or compared to someone else. The Ego strives to be "there" but there is no "there". The Ego thinks of spiritual growth like passing school. Which grade am I in, what do I need to learn, did I pass the test, am I better than the person next to me. The Soul doesn't work like that. It is a heart expansion. It's a peace expansion, a joy expansion. It asks do I feel lighter? Do I feel more peaceful? Am I more joyful? Am I more loving? It is never ending. It is about moving closer and closer to light, to Source, to Divinity and each of our paths is different to get there.

shutterstock_103673054The layers of consciousness expand up with the highest level being closest to Source, closest to
Divinity. The most aligned with God. Every Souls expansion is to become more and more like the God-like energy of Source. To expand to a place of unconditional love. It is the journey of creating heaven on earth. The opportunity of a human life is to achieve more love, more peace, more joy. To create more love, more peace, more joy. As we have free will, part of the challenge is making the choice to spiral up into the light because we have an equal opportunity to spiral into shadow.

Shadow includes hatred, judgment, fighting, hurting each other and beautiful Mother Earth. The layers going up are layers of consciousness to light and the layers going down are layers of consciousness to shadow. We may get stuck at one level, and we can also spiral into darkness. We all ride the spiral of choice between light and shadow each moment of each day. Our life is not a test but an opportunity, and there is no measure at the end of this life as to whether we did it right. When we return home, there is a chance for reflection, healing, perspective and learning. Heaven and hell are man-made egoic concepts experienced more during life, than in death.

If you want to understand which level of consciousness you are in without giving it a number and a comparison to anything else, the thing to look at is your triggers. Your triggers are the clues to the karmic things you are here to resolve. Examples of triggers include (but this is by no means an exhaustive list) racism, poverty, religion, spirituality, power, authority, selfishness, under-responsibility, etc. Anything that is a trigger for you is always the clue to your karmic path. Once you have found peace with whatever triggers you, you grow. You are not here to fight that issue; you are here to come to a level of peace about the very thing you resist. So surrender is how you come to peace with that which you don't like. That's your Karmic journey, and that's why each of our journeys to Soul expansion is different.

So, what are your triggers?

Focus on the following question - How do I come to peace with ............. ? This can help you identify your karmic areas of expansion. Make a note of them. Be gentle with your awareness, offer yourself the chance for growth without judgement and/or justification.

If we spiral through these levels of consciousness, then the question is what is the path to help us expand from one level of consciousness to another. How do we move from one level to the next? There are seven key elements to spiritual growth, healing, and transformation. As nothing in Universal consciousness is linear, view these as interactive elements rather than sequential steps; however all seven elements need to be present in some form or another for growth.

ACCEPT – Can you embrace reality for what it is?

TRUST – Do you have faith that all is exactly the way it is supposed to be?

EMBRACE – Can you own the part you play in co-creating this reality?

LOVE – Can you find compassion, love and kindness for yourself and others?

RELEASE – Are you willing to face your truth and deal with how you feel about something?

CONNECT – Do you allow yourself to receive support, love and guidance?

EXPAND – Are you brave enough to make new choices and try something new?

These can be used to deal with a specific issue, event or concept. They can also become a general state and approach to life.

Surrender Spiral

Each of these elements are significant and complex in their paradoxes and nuances and expanded on and form the basis of the seven tips for my free e-book - 7 Tips on How to Surrender to your Soul.

The way we approach our life and events in our life gives us the opportunity to live a life of peace, love, joy and optimism or to feel overwhelmed, stressed, anxious, aggressive and defeated. Understanding what informs our choices and healing from our pain, both from this lifetime and past lifetimes gives us the opportunity to grow. None of us are perfect (thank goodness), and this journey is not one that has an end point. As we expand through one level of consciousness, so we will face another trigger, and so the journey continues.

The diagram below shows the elements to choose a life of growth and light, the elements that contribute to staying stuck and the elements to spiral into darkness. None are right or wrong; this is not a model to evaluate success or failure but something that can provide new insights and new choices.

Spirals Labeled

Each of us spirals up and down continuously. Every morning we get up,and we have an opportunity to choose again. I have never met anyone that wants to spiral into darkness. Intention is never the problem. We may just not know any better and still have some karmic ties that need resolution. We are always doing the best we know how to do!

The World (or group) consciousness also affect us. The world is currently in a significant transition period where more and more people are choosing love and peace over power.If you are reading this book, then it's likely you want to be a part of creating more love and peace in the world.

The change starts with you!

Sending love


This is an excerpt from my free e-book - 7 Tips on How to Surrender to your Soul. If you want to get more information about the 7 elements sign up today to get your copy delivered to your inbox.